Are You Ready To Come Clean?

Image1 A colleague recommended me an interesting website a couple of days ago. The title on one of the visuals caught my attention immediately – “Are You Ready To Come Clean?”

This is not a website for religious nor criminal confession but a call to raise water awareness through a simple quiz that takes you through your laundry routine. It is an interesting initiative led by denimwear giant, Levi Strauss & Co that aims to share how you can increase the lifespan of your jeans while saving water at the same time.”When it comes to denim, washing less is a good thing, it can extend the life and improve the look if your favourite jeans, more importantly, it saves water.” Washing less? Looking Good? Hmmm. Let’s give this a try shall we? Click on www.levistrauss.com/lca-quiz.

I must say that the design and layout of this quiz is well thought off and it is pretty simple for users to navigate through the questions.

I must say that the design and layout of this quiz is well thought off and it is pretty simple for users to navigate through the questions.

Singapore, ahuh, Asia Pacific…

Singapore, ahuh, Asia Pacific…

Yes…my pairs of jeans are pretty old.

Yes…my pairs of jeans are pretty old.

Self-explanatory. Shall not elaborate :  ) Personal.

Self-explanatory. Shall not elaborate : ) Personal.

I set my washing machine temperature to wash my clothes at 60 degrees and choose to use the drying machine.

I set my washing machine temperature to wash my clothes at 60 degrees and choose to use the drying machine.

How old is my washing machine? Brand new.

How old is my washing machine? Brand new.

40 is the new 20.

40 is the new 20.

Results!

Results!

According to the results, I am doing pretty ok!. Over the course of a year, I would be able to save 333 litres of water and that’s 67% better than the average person or the equivalent of 55 toilet flushes. If you want your jeans to last longer, you should try to wash them less, cold and hang them dry! Before I continue, let me take the #washlesspledge and share my result on my social media platforms.

Image10

At Levi Strauss & Co., they are focused on building sustainability into everything. Their first lifecycle assessment (LCA) study in 2007 found that the greatest water and energy was in two areas: cotton cultivation and consumer use. They have since made tremendous progress innovating water reduction in denim manufacturing, including the Water Less process which has saved 1 billion litres if water since 2011 which eventually reduces the water used in garment finishing by up to 96 percent. Phew! Pretty heavy stuff for my Sunday light reading, but you can always read more about their efforts at www.levistrauss.com/sustainability/planet/lifecycle-assessment and at www.levistrauss.com/sustainability/products/waterless.

And if you are in the mood for more stories, check out their cool blog Unzipped and read some of the interesting stories that they have published!

Image11 By Hunter

Leave a Reply

