From Zaandam-Volendam with Love

CoverRotterdam

The recent erratic rainy season in Singapore reminded me of my trip to Zaandam and Volendam couple of years ago. Note to self – rain seems to be my trigger point for a blog post.

I love rain. It soothes me. But not when I am travelling and all geared-up for a travel photo outing. My shoes and clothes will be wet. The sky and clouds showing their 51 shades of grey. And I will be constantly irritated  by passers-by who are trying to get that obscure temporary shelter under your tiny umbrella (ella ella eh eh eh eh eh eh) as they attempt to move pass you and onto the next unsuspecting brolly-bearer.

It was never dry in Zaandam and Volendam. The sky was pouring rain all the time. This is what I had observed during my short but eventful stay in Netherlands.

Alas! All is not lost. Even with the chilly, stormy weather, Zaandam and Volendam are still beautiful places to experience.

Hope you will enjoy this photo essay.

Pic 1: Beautiful and clean waterfront living made possible in Zaandam. I guess if you are this close to water,  you tend to be more responsible for the cleanliness of the waterways.

Pic 1:
Beautiful and clean waterfront living made possible in Zaandam. I guess if you are this close to water, you tend to be more responsible for the cleanliness of the waterways.

Pic 2:  I would love to stay in a house like this. I will even have my own bridge!

Pic 2:
I would love to stay in a house like this. I will even have my own bridge!

Pic 3:  Beautiful isn’t it? Can you spot the drizzles hitting the calm cool water? Some may argue that Singapore’s vision for waterfront living started with the clean-up of Singapore River. But in recent years, PUB, the national water agency’s Active, Beautiful, Clean Waters Programme (ABC Waters Programme) have brought waterfront living into the heartlands.

Pic 3:
Beautiful isn’t it? Can you spot the drizzles hitting the calm cool water?
Some may argue that Singapore’s vision for waterfront living started with the clean-up of Singapore River. But in recent years, PUB, the national water agency’s Active, Beautiful, Clean Waters Programme (ABC Waters Programme) have brought waterfront living into the heartlands.

Pic 4:  Boats and bicycles are common mode of transportation here in Rotterdam. No wonder I see a lot of slim beautiful men and women around. Wink! Wink!

Pic 4:
Boats and bicycles are common mode of transportation here in Rotterdam. No wonder I see a lot of slim beautiful men and women around. Wink! Wink!

Pic 5:  Quack! Quack! Spot the ducks of Volendam!

Pic 5:
Quack! Quack! Spot the ducks of Volendam!

Pic 6:  There you are! Beautiful little creatures (that I can eat)!

Pic 6:
There you are! Beautiful little creatures (that I can eat)!

Pic 7:  This my favourite picture for this photo essay. Nothing much to say for this image but let’s just stare at it and don’t blink for a minute. See something odd?

Pic 7:
This my favourite picture for this photo essay. Nothing much to say for this image but let’s just stare at it and don’t blink for a minute. See something odd?

Pic 8:  Besides the experience of waterfront living, what I love about my journey across Zaandam-Volendam is the feel of unlimited space. Plenty of air to breathe.

Pic 8:
Besides the experience of waterfront living, what I love about my journey across Zaandam-Volendam is the feel of unlimited space. Plenty of air to breathe.

Pic 9:  More space.

Pic 9:
More space.

Pic 10:  Unlimited space.

Pic 10:
Unlimited space.

Pic 11:  Quack! Sorry! Can’t resist sharing this random picture of a caged plush duck! It is sooooo funny!

Pic 11:
Quack! Sorry! Can’t resist sharing this random picture of a caged plush duck! It is sooooo funny!

Pic 12: Well, I think by now, you kind of get what I mean when I talk about the feel of space.

Pic 12:
Well, I think by now, you kind of get what I mean when I talk about the feel of space.

Pic 13:  I leave you now with this backshot of two Asians chatting over their share of western meal. What has this picture got to do with water? Nothing. But we all have to eat sometime and I just want to tell you that the fish and chips and burgers in Volendam are great!

Pic 13:
I leave you now with this backshot of two Asians chatting over their share of western meal. What has this picture got to do with water? Nothing. But we all have to eat sometime and I just want to tell you that the fish and chips and burgers in Volendam are great!

Hunter

Leave a Reply

