Sembawang’s Au Natural Water

15 Aug 2013                

Having pitted a taste test between bottled and tap water some time back, I’m starting to wonder if the whole “water that comes from Mt Fuji” thing is just a marketing gimmick, because it tasted like ordinary bottled water. Unfortunately, there isn’t any way for me to find out, unless I go out of my way to monitor the entire manufacturing process. However, there is one way to taste natural spring water, even in Singapore.

A great place to start would be at the Sembawang Hot Spring, possibly the only hot spring on the main island. I’m quite confused about the hot springs’ history because Wikipedia and the Remember Singapore blog tell a different story (and I don’t consider either sources very reliable).

What they do agree upon is that its popularity with the general public took off in 2002, because it was thought that the hot spring had certain magical healing properties. However, its popularity declined, especially after a man lost six toes to gangrene in the hot spring,

Up till this day, no one is sure where the origin of the water is, though local geologists believe it could be from the Bukit Timah area.

Sembawang_Hot_Spring—Singapore
I know, I know. It looks rather dismal and uninspiring. On the bright side, it’s nice that we do have a hot spring, I guess.

The Sembawang Hot Spring is open to the public. It’s a far cry from the luxurious hot springs we see in Japan- there isn’t even a proper tub, just standpipes with buckets for visitors to soak their feet. However, you can try what real spring water tastes like by taking a sip and I have a feeling it would taste very different from tap water because the chloride and sulfide content there is much higher, but don’t blame me if you become ill.

I haven’t been there before, and after pictures I saw, I haven’t any intention to. It’s very far away from where I work and live, and it just doesn’t look worth my time. If you do drop by though, leave a comment, and let me know how you found it.

By Jax Sparrow

Leave a Reply

