Mount Fuji Vs My Water Pipe

31 May 2013                  

After writing so much about water recently, I wondered to myself, “Does anyone pay a lot of money to drink water?” I’m talking about the people who buy Evian, but take it to the next level. If you thought a few dollars for a bottle of Evian was expensive, you have no idea just how much people are willing to pay for premium bottled water. Think $40 for 750ml of Bling H20 to $400 for Kona Nigari water from deep underneath Hawaii. I wondered just how different they are from, say, tap water.

image001
By the brand, I trust this isn’t anything very fancy, but I’m going to assume that it really did come from Japan’s most famous volcano.

I decided to run a simple taste test myself. I was given this bottle of water that is supposedly from Mount Fuji. It’s not something very expensive or fancy, but I’m starting small for my first time. And I pitted it in a blind taste test against ordinary tap water from my home, making sure both were the same temperature so I can’t tell the difference by just feeling.

So was I able to tell the two apart? Well, yes. Water tastes different, just like how both Pepsi and Coca Cola taste slightly different. And just like Pepsi and Coke fans out there, I too have a preference, and I prefer the humble tap water. It’s not that tap water tastes exceptionally good or the Mount Fuji water tastes especially bad. I think it’s just a matter of me getting used to the taste of tap water when I taste it every day, such as when I’m brushing my teeth.

I guess for me, at the end of the day, water is water. As long as it’s clean and drinkable, it’s good enough for me.

Jax Sparrow

Leave a Reply

