I want to fish

14 Mar 2013                     

Fish

World Water Day is held annually on 22 March. This year, Singapore celebrates this meaningful cause on 16 March.

I came across this website: http://www.singaporeworldwaterday.com/ which holds a lot of information about the islandwide activites that will be held this Saturday.

What interest me most were the free fishing clinics conducted by the Gamefish and Aquatic Rehabilitation Society (GARS). This workshop aims to educate anglers on using artificial bait, and practising catch and release. The clinic will also include a demonstration on fly fishing. The website states that this clinic would be the perfect opportunity for those who have always wanted to learn more about fishing responsibly. You can visit this URL for more info: http://www.singaporeworldwaterday.com/fishingclinic.htm

I am one of those people who are guilty of fishing using live baits and I don’t practise catch and release, so it will be really interesting to find out what does “fishing responsibly” actually means. I am not sure that I would be able to wake up and attend this clinic though, but I will do my best to encourage my other irresponsible friends to be mindful about our bad fishing habits. Ignorance is never blissful here in Singapore because you can be fined!

By Hunter

Leave a Reply

