Cycling for water? What’s that?

14 Mar 2013                  

On 16 March 2013, as part of World Water Day celebrations in Singapore, cycling groups from Love Cycling SG, Westie Warriors and Punggol Night Riders will lead cycling enthusiasts through scenic routes, including Singapore’s beautiful park connectors. (click on the link for more details of the route)

cycle for water
Image: http://www.singaporeworldwaterday.com/cycleforwater.htm

I haven’t cycled for ages really and was surprised when my one of my friends asked me to start our ride from Punggol. He told me that it was his favourite cycling route. I was rather skeptical because Punggol only reminded me of massive HDB construction sites and dark roads – that lead you to somewhere even darker.

Three minutes into the ride, and I realised that this Punggol – unknown to me –  was just the kind of place that I was looking for. I kind of hate cycling on the roads because I think it is dangerous and cycling on pavements is a big no-no in most estates in Singapore. Solution = Park Connector Network.

Back at home hours later – I began to read a little bit  more about park connectors in Singapore and  was amazed at how the boring old school canals and dimly lit parks were integrated  and transformed into beautiful recreational areas for all to enjoy. Wow! I need to spend more time outside the office.

Recommended links:

http://www.nparks.gov.sg

www.pub.gov.sg/abcwaters

By Hunter

One comment

  1. My family members always say that I am wasting my time here at web, except I know I am getting
    know-how all the time by reading thes good posts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

